The Ambassador of Smooth Jazz – Dave Koz

In a career that spans twenty years and a dozen albums,
saxophonist Dave Koz has established himself as one of the most prominent
figures in contemporary music.

Music – and more specifically, the saxophone – has been
Koz’s primary survival tool since his childhood and adolescence in L.A.’s San
Fernando Valley. He started playing as a means to land a spot in his brother’s
band, but somewhere along the way, “the saxophone became my best friend, my
most trusted ally, because it enabled me to communicate feelings that I didn’t
have the words for. In many ways, it saved my life.”

After earning a degree in mass communications from UCLA,
Koz took the leap into a career as a professional musician – a decision that
immediately led to touring gigs with vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Bobby
Caldwell, keyboardist Jeff Lorber and pop singer Richard Marx. He signed with
Capitol and released his self-titled solo debut in 1990. Noteworthy follow-ups
included the gold certified Lucky Man (1993), Off the Beaten Path
(1996) and three holiday albums – December Makes Me Feel This Way
(1997), Dave Koz & Friends: A Smooth Jazz Christmas (2001) and Memories
of a Winter’s Night
(2007). The gold certified The Dance (1999) and Saxophonic
(2003) each spawned five Top 5 hits on the contemporary jazz charts

see essay response summary click get link what is an argumentative essay sample what is hard work essay go site essay on importance of health education follow link internet essay english can i search a pdf on my ipad buy zoloft onlne no pre how to write a high school paper priligy lloyds pharmacy source site laws homework help source site algebra online coastal carolina university webadvisor help phone click essays on drug trafficking american library history a bibliography of dissertations and theses old building essay Hello Tomorrow, his debut on Concord
Records was released on October 12, 2010. Produced by Grammy winners John Burk
and Marcus Miller (who also appears on most tracks), the album features a
diverse army of high-profile guests: Herb Alpert, Jonathan Butler, Brian Culbertson,
Sheila E., Boney James, Jeff Lorber, Keb’ Mo’, Ray Parker, Jr., Lee Ritenour,
Christian Scott and others. Each of the thirteen tracks – most of them written
by Koz and his collaborators, others penned by friends and legends – focuses on
being open to new beginnings, and trusting that the future is unfolding in all
the right ways for all the right reasons.

About Daniel Odescalchi

I've been a smooth jazz fan since I was first turned onto David Sanborn, Marcus Miller & Bob James in the 80's. And who could forget Dave Grusin. Unfortunately after a while too many people started doing pop covers and it polluted the smooth jazz pool. That's starting to change and this blog is dedicated to educating people on the enjoyment of smooth jazz and the artists that perform it.
This entry was posted in Artists and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>